Strawberry Hand Pies

hand pies 3

The strawberries just keep on coming around here!

I don’t have nearly as many strawberry plants as Mom does, but my inventory is growing.  I will post pictures of my newly-stocked raised bed soon.

While I only have a couple dozen plants, Mom must have hundreds!  For the past several weeks, the strawberries have been ripening at an amazing rate. Mom picks quarts of berries daily.  We have both made double  batches of strawberry freezer jam and frozen many quart bags of whole berries.

If I decide later that I want to make more jam, I can use some frozen berries.  Or I can use them for muffins or daiquiris (I wish) or ice cream or —

I’m dying to cook up some new-to-us foods using these berries and I’ve been collecting recipes.  Yesterday, I decided to make Strawberry Hand Pies.  The results were delicious!

hand pies 2

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

Strawberry Hand Pies

2-3/8 cups all-purpose flour, plus more for dusting

1 teaspoon baking powder

1-¼ teaspoons salt

1 stick cold unsalted butter, cut into small pieces

2 large egg yolks

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

¾ pound strawberries (about 2 cups), cut into ½-inch pieces

½ cup confectioners’ sugar

3 Tablespoons strawberry jam

1 Tablespoon sanding sugar (I just used plain ol’ white sugar)

In a large bowl, combine 2 ¼ cups flour, baking powder, and 1 teaspoon salt.  Using a pastry blender, cut butter into flour mixture until mixture resembles coarse sand.  Add 1 egg yolk, ½ cup chilled water, and ½ teaspoon vanilla and mix until just combined.  (If dough is dry or crumbly and doesn’t stay together, add up to 3 Tablespoons more chilled water.)  Transfer dough to a lightly floured surface and knead 2 to 3 times, just until dough comes together.  Return dough to bowl, cover with plastic wrap, and refrigerate until chilled, about 15 minutes.

Meanwhile, make filling:  In a medium bowl, combine strawberries, confectioners’ sugar, and jam, plus remaining flour, vanilla and salt.  Set aside.

In a small bowl, beat remaining egg yolk and 1 Tablespoon water for egg wash; set aside.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

On a lightly floured surface, roll out dough to ½-inch thickness.  Using a 3-inch round cookie cutter, cut dough into 6 rounds.  Roll 1 round into a 6-inch circle.  **(I suggest NOT doing the filling on the same surface you are rolling out your dough!  First, move the rolled-out, 6-inch circle of dough onto a piece of wax paper.)**  Spoon a heaping 2 Tablespoons filling onto half of circle, leaving ½-inch border.  Brush the edges with egg wash, then fold dough over filling.    Using a fork, crimp the edges to seal the hand pie.  Transfer to a parchment-lined baking sheet.  Repeat with remaining dough rounds and filling.

Using a toothpick, poke a few holes in the top of each pie.  Brush with remaining egg wash and sprinkle each pie with ½ teaspoon sanding sugar.  (I used just ¼ teaspoon granulated sugar.)  Bake until golden brown, 30 to 35 minutes.  Transfer to a wire rack to cool.

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

hand pies 4

Everyone loved these hand pies and there are no leftovers!  I think that maybe, just maybe, they would have been even better with a little bit of whipped cream to dip my pie in before taking a bite.  Kind of like ice cream with cake, you know?  But they are totally awesome with whipping cream!

These would be a great little dessert to bring along on a picnic or when you’re trying to be frugal and packing a lunch instead of eating out.  Personally, I love to eat out, but knowing I have one (or two) of these in my lunch sack would make me feel better about refraining.  (As if saving money isn’t enough.)

We’re counting this recipe as a keeper!  Now I just need to find another dozen or so strawberry recipes…  Do you have a favorite recipe that uses strawberries that you would like to share?  I would love to see it!

One response to “Strawberry Hand Pies

Leave a Reply

