Fruit Salsa with Cinnamon Chips

fruit salsa 1

I just got home from my latest Doctor appointment.  I am now 26 weeks, 3 days along in the pregnancy and that means it’s time for the…. Da da da DAA!!!  Glucose test!!

For those of you who are not familiar with this wonderful (sarcasm) rite of passage for every pregnant woman, I will fill you in.  The glucose test is when you arrive at the Doctor’s office early in the morning with an empty stomach.  That means no coffee.  Then you get to pick your poison:  Orange or Lemon-Lime.  I picked Lemon-Lime.  It looks like an 8- ounce soda at first glance, but the drink is much sweeter and you have to drink it as quickly as possible so the nurse can start timing you.  After an hour, she draws blood which is tested to see if you have gestational diabetes.

When I was pregnant with Violet, I failed the one-hour test and had to go back and take the three-hour test (they draw blood every hour for three hours).  That was an awful experience that I do not wish to repeat.  Here’s hoping I pass the one-hour test this time.

On the bright side, next month I get to have another ultrasound!  Woohoo!  I love seeing baby up on the monitor.  🙂

Enough baby news.  How about a recipe?  I made this fruit salsa yesterday for the family and there was very little left over.  Just enough for Mama and baby to enjoy today.

fruit salsa 3

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

Fruit Salsa with Cinnamon Chips

1 cup finely chopped fresh strawberries

1 medium navel orange, peeled and finely chopped

3 medium kiwifruit, peeled and finely chopped

1 can (8 ounces) unsweetened crushed pineapple, drained

1 Tablespoon lemon juice

1 ½ teaspoons sugar

CINNAMON CHIPS:

10 (8-inch)  flour tortillas

¼ cup butter, melted

1/3 cup sugar

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

     In a small bowl, combine the first six ingredients.  Cover and refrigerate until serving.

     For chips, brush tortillas with butter; cut each into eight wedges.  Combine sugar and cinnamon; sprinkle over tortillas.  Place on ungreased baking sheets and bake at 350-degrees for 5-10 minutes (for me it was more like 15, but keep an eye on them!) or just until crisp.  Serve with fruit salsa.

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

fruit salsa 2

The fruit salsa may or may not look appetizing at first, but I received many compliments on it when I served it to everyone yesterday. Four generations of ladies enjoyed it, along with a brawny man who is always happy to try my recipes.  The cinnamon chips went really well with the fruit.

Okay!  I think I need to mosey on out to the garden and water the seedlings.  It would be a shame to kill them with neglect now that they have sprouted.  After that, I’m going to spend some time on a new crafty project I’ve been working on lately.  I am so excited about it and can’t wait to share!

Have a fabulous day!

2 responses to “Fruit Salsa with Cinnamon Chips

  1. Happy 26 weeks! Ugh, the glucose test. 😦 I always choose orange because it taste like flat orange soda…
    That fruity salsa looks amazing!! 😀

    • I have always chosen orange also, but I have been trying to avoid artificial colors in foods and so I chose the clear lemon-lime instead. 😛
      The fruit salsa is MUCH better than the glucose drink! LOL I choose IT hands down, any day!

Leave a Reply

