Planting the Garden

garden 2

Even though the thought of working outside made me want to collapse into a pile of pregnant goo, I called Mom yesterday morning and asked if she wanted to help plant the garden.

She — like me — had woken up groaning with aches and pains.  But WonderMom said she is “always game” for outdoor work and that she would be over in one hour.

What have I done?  I thought.  Quick! Give me some coffee!  

I gathered up everything I thought we would need for a late morning of working in the garden:  seed packets, gloves, sunglasses, hats, water bottles…  I can’t stand getting out to the garden to start work and realizing that I left something behind.

What I should have packed was a snack, because by the time we were done Violet was hysterical with hunger — she didn’t realize she was hungry until we were done planting, though.  Shame on mama for not packing a snack.  I’ll be sure to do it next time.

garden 1

Mom arrived and began tilling the back of the garden, saying to me, “You are NOT tilling!”

Okay.  You don’t have to tell me twice.  As it was, I had to take frequent breaks, because I was feeling quite breathless.  My What to Expect book tells me that my uterus is now the size of a basketball.  Yep.  That would explain the breathlessness.  So I got to work raking the dirt where the rows would be, then hoeing a trench for the seeds.

garden 2

The seeds I bought this year are from Baker Creek, which only sells heirloom, non-GMO seeds.  I bought:

  • Calima Bush Beans
  • Sweet Chocolate Peppers (wouldn’t it be nice if they actually tasted like chocolate?!)
  • Good Mother Stallard Beans
  • Pennsylvania Dutch Crookneck Squash (pumpkin, but not like the pumpkins I’m used to)
  • Jack Be Little Squash (so cute!)
  • Arikara Sunflower
  • Tiger Eye Mix Sunflower
  • Carrots (a free gift with my order)

garden 3

I also received some seed packets from my Secret Pal last week at church.  I don’t know who it is, but she must know that I am a budding gardener!  The new gardening gloves she gave me certainly have come in handy this week.

Violet wanted to plant sunflowers first, so I made a trench along the side of the garden, near the treeline.  The tree branches need to be trimmed, because it becomes shady there too early in the day.  Add it to the to-do list.

garden 4

garden 5

garden 6

Vi loved dropping the sunflower seeds  in, covering them up and patting them down.  She said it was like covering them with a blanket and putting them to bed.

She did such a good job that we let her plant the rest of the seeds, too.  She insisted.

garden 7

I have plans to make special garden markers for each type of plant, but until those are ready I used white pvc pipes to mark the rows.  I didn’t put a marker in front of every row — just where a new crop starts.  The other pipes you see in the photo are surrounding the blueberry bushes and have been there since we planted the berries.

garden 8

I was so relieved to have most of the garden planted!  We still have to plant the snake gourds, sweet chocolate peppers, some cucumbers and sweet banana peppers.  Then I’ve just got to keep the garden watered and weeded.  For me, that’s the hard part.

The other thing that I am so excited about is getting the rain barrel set up!

I took a hacksaw and cut the downspout so I could attach the brown plastic thing (I don’t know the technical name for it).  We set the barrel up on bricks so I can easily access the spigot at the bottom, and voila!  We are ready for rain!

garden 9

Watch.  Now we won’t get any measurable rain for the rest of the summer.  Bah!

Anybody know a good rain dance?  Now that’s an idea!  I bet Violet would be up for some dancing in the garden.

I’ll let you know how that goes.  😉

Have a happy weekend!

2 responses to “Planting the Garden

Leave a Reply

