Ashland… and an Announcement

It has been nearly 3 ½ months since I posted anything on this blog and for that I am sincerely sorry.

I don’t have any really good excuses for why I haven’t written, except to say in response to your question, “What happened?”:  Life happened.

In more ways than one.

So much has been going on and there are so many things that I want to share with you, but I will start by announcing — for those of you who don’t already know — that I am pregnant!  I’m 22 weeks along now and due on August 31.  We think it’s another girl.  Yay!

Henry-Clay-sculpture

There’s nothing like hearing the clock ticking toward the deadline of a baby’s birth to get me moving on some long-overdue projects.  Rearranging, purging, painting, organizing…  That has been a common theme around here lately.  I’m so excited to see the changes around here and can’t wait to find out how much more can get done in the next four months!

I do need to take a few more photos of the newly painted rooms before I can show them to you, so I will share some pictures I took  last week on a field trip with Violet’s homeschooling co-op.  We went to Ashland, The Henry Clay Estate, which is in Lexington.

I really didn’t have a clue who Henry Clay was before last week.  Our tour guide was great and the kids did a fantastic job of listening and not being too fidgety, while also suppressing their natural urge to touch everything.  (We couldn’t even touch the walls.)  In case you’re interested, this is what I remember off the top of my head:  Henry Clay was a lawyer who ran for President of the United States three times, but was never elected.  He did serve in Congress, though, and was known as the Great Orator and also as Kentucky’s Favorite Son.  His house was really cool, but we weren’t allowed to take any photographs inside.

the ice house & the dairy cellar

the ice house & the dairy cellar

inside the dairy cellar

inside the dairy cellar

the privy

the privy

Finally out of the house and able to run around in the garden!

Finally out of the house and able to run around in the garden!

Credit is due to my friend, Kara, who took the photographs of the ice houses and of Violet and me in the dairy cellar.  Thanks, friend!

I will take some final pictures of the new paint today and get them up to show you ASAP.  And not only did I take a hiatus from blogging, but I also didn’t cook much for a couple of months.  Now I’m getting back into the swing of it, though, and I can’t wait to try out some new recipes — and share them, of course.

Thanks for coming back to PPID.   I’ll be back again tomorrow, I promise!

2 responses to “Ashland… and an Announcement

  1. Wow, the ice house and dairy cellar are SO interesting!!
    Congratulations on your soon-to-be little one! 😀 Are you choosing to wait to find out the gender?

Leave a Reply

