Spanakopita Bites

Howdy!  I hope y’all had a magical Christmas and continue to recover from all the festivities.  Some people I know are still doing the rounds, visiting extended family around the country.  Safe travels to all of you braving the winter weather!

Our Christmas was a very special one, with my Grandma having lived here in Kentucky for only a few months.  Our little family celebration has grown from three, to four, and now to five people!  Woohoo!

A Christmas Eve tradition, three-years-running, is to cook up a bunch of appetizers and munch on those all day, instead of having a formal meal.  It’s a great opportunity to try some of the recipes we have pinned and salivated over!  Mom usually makes three or four things for our time at her house, then we come to our house and I have another three or four (or six) appetizers waiting to be gobbled up.

We had too much food this year.

Yes, it is possible.  Especially when my husband doesn’t get home when I expect hope he will.  I didn’t even make one of my appetizers until two days after Christmas!

It was worth the wait.  I’ll tell you about that one later.

First, I want to share with you my recipe for Spanakopita Bites.  I had never tried to cook these before, but I love the spinach pie I get from a food vendor at the local art fair and I wanted to give it a shot.  These are very similar and ohh so delicious!!

fresh out of the oven

Spanakopita Bites

1 egg

1 package (10 ounces) frozen chopped spinach, thawed and squeezed dry

2 cups (8 ounces) crumbled feta cheese

1 cup (8 ounces) 4% small-curd cottage cheese

3/4 cup butter, melted

16 sheets phyllo dough (14 inches x 9 inches)

     1. In a large bowl, combine the egg, spinach and cheeses; set aside.

     2. Brush a 15-inch x 10-inch x 1-inch baking pan with some of the butter.  Layer eight sheets of phyllo dough in prepared pan, brushing each with butter.  (Keep remaining dough covered with plastic wrap and a damp towel to prevent it from drying out.)  Spread with spinach mixture.  Top with remaining phyllo dough, brushing each sheet with butter.

     3. Cover and freeze for 30 minutes.  Using a sharp knife, cut into 1-inch squares.  Bake at 350 degrees for 35-40 minutes or until golden brown.

spanakopita bites

You can prepare this recipe ahead of time and just keep it in the freezer until you are ready to bake it, which is what I did.  Just take it out of the freezer, let it warm up for a few minutes, then cut it and bake it as directed.

The individual layers of buttered phyllo dough get so crispy it’s amazing!  I have avoided working with phyllo for years, thinking it would be too difficult, but it really wasn’t.  Keeping a damp towel on top is key, though, or else the paper-thin dough will dry out.

crispy layers

This recipe is a definite keeper.  It’s not something I’ll make very often — maybe a new Christmas tradition?  (Did you see how much butter is in there?!)  But when I do make it, I know I will love it every time.

Thanks for stopping by and check back in soon, because I am going to be sharing more recipes!  Have a great weekend!

2 responses to “Spanakopita Bites

Leave a Reply

