Healthy Homemade Crackers

When it comes to cravings, for me it’s either chocolatey or it’s salty.

Sometimes it’s both, but I digress.

In my mind, somehow crackers don’t seem quite as unhealthy as potato chips or Cheetos.  But taking a look at that ingredient list makes me think twice.  Surely there doesn’t need to be twenty+ ingredients in a simple cracker?!

crackers

In my search for an easy-to-make-at-home cracker that is still tasty, a couple months ago I made these cheesy treats.  Delish!  But now I’m looking for a recipe that can compete with the multi-grain crackers from Sam’s Club, to which I am hopelessly addicted.

And currently out of.

While I wouldn’t necessarily mind taking the time to drive to Lexington to visit Sam’s Club, I can’t rationalize spending the gas money for a box of crackers!

So when I found this recipe over at Super Healthy Kids I was eager to try it.

Healthy Homemade Crackers

(adapted from Super Healthy Kids)

1 cup whole wheat flour

½ cup oatmeal

3 tablespoons wheat germ

¼ teaspoon salt

2 teaspoons dried Italian seasoning

1/3 cup water

¼ cup olive oil

1 cup shredded cheddar cheese

2 tablespoons poppy seeds

     First, grind the oatmeal in a food processor until it is a fine meal.  Then, add the flour, wheat germ, salt and herbs to the oatmeal in the food processor.  Pulse a few times to blend the dry mixture.  Add the water, olive oil and cheese and process until well-blended.  The mixture should stick to itself and easily form a ball in your hands.  Add more water or oil if it seems too dry, or more flour if it gets too wet.

     Roll the dough out on a floured surface and get it as thin as you can.  Thinner = crispier.  Cut crackers out with your favorite cookie cutters or, if you’re in a hurry, just use a knife.  We did both.  I prefer to bake my crackers on parchment paper, but a silpat liner or plain ungreased cookie sheet should work also.  Poke ’em with a fork before baking if you want to avoid some bubbles.

Bake at 350 degrees for about 20 minutes.  I left mine in even longer, because I wanted them really crispy.

crackers 1

I really like how these crackers turned out.  No, they’re not quite as addicting as those crackers from Sam’s Club, but they sure are cheaper!  (Think $$ for gas to get to Lexington and back.)  Next time I make them, I am going to play around with the herbs and seeds.  Toasted sesame seeds would be fabulous in these crackers (unfortunately, I don’t have any right now).  I like the Italian seasoning, but might try something else as well.  Also, perhaps substituting the salt with garlic salt or seasoned salt would lend them a nice extra flavor.

What I know for sure is that Violet loves them and therefore I do too!

One response to “Healthy Homemade Crackers

  1. I’m a bit intimidated by baking crackers… I tried once as a child, and they turned out more like puffy savory cookies. Not even close to flat and crispy! Yours look gorgeous (and addicting) though!

Leave a Reply

