A Hug in a Jar — Homemade Hot Cocoa Mix

Secret Pals were revealed tonight at my church’s women’s group meeting.

I hope my Secret Pal wasn’t trying to diet (is that even possible during the holidays?), because I nearly filled her gift bag with homemade goodies.  Fudge, PB&J Blondies, Oreo Cookie Balls… and this Homemade Hot Cocoa Mix.

cocoa mix

I found the idea for this on Ball Canning‘s facebook page.  They are doing a “25 Days of Making and Giving” series that I have found pretty inspiring.

The original recipe, which filled a quart jar, was too big so I adapted it to fill a pint jar.

Homemade Hot Cocoa Mix

In a pint jar layer :

½ cup powdered milk

½ cup unsweetened cocoa powder

½ cup granulated sugar

¼ cup mini chocolate chips

¼ cup crushed candy canes

¼ cup mini marshmallows (or until the jar is full)

Add a tag that says, “Mix contents in a bowl.  For each serving, place 1/3 cup cocoa mix in a mug and stir in 1 cup boiling water.  Store remaining mix in an airtight container.”

 

I added a square of Christmas fabric on top of the lid and screwed the ring in place over the fabric.  Then I tied the tag on with some red and white baker’s twine and called it a day.

Actually, no I didn’t call it a day.  After making the hot cocoa mix, I whipped up a batch of my Mom’s fudge.  But that is a story for another day.  This momma is tired!  There are only two weeks left until Christmas and I plan on relaxing and enjoying this magical time with my daughter.

I think I shall start relaxing right now.

Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

