A Tisket, a Tasket, I Made a Napkin Basket

Way back in July I wrote a blog post titled Our Week in Pictures, which included a photo of a half-made basket I was working on.  A group of ladies from church got together to make the baskets for our bazaar, which was a few weeks ago.  We each made three baskets, but these photographs are of my first (ever!) basket.

The size is perfect for holding napkins and sitting prettily on the dining table.

Table clutter has been drastically reduced, as a result, because I would much rather look at my handiwork than a pile of mess. Maybe I should make a basket for every room…

The bottom was a little tricky to finish.  I was so relieved when I finally finished it without breaking anything!

So that’s my most recent finished project.  Yesterday, I went back to working on the apron that I started making a year ago.  Yes, a year ago.  It will match the one I made for Violet and you can see that here.

Well, I got one of the side seams sewn before the bobbin ran out of thread, but after re-threading the bobbin, the machine was completely messed up.  Grandma, Mom and I literally spent hours working on it, trying to figure out what the problem was.  This kind of thing happens a lot when I’m trying to sew.  It is so incredibly frustrating!!

Finally, it seemed like the machine was working correctly again, but by that point it was getting late and I set it all aside for another day.  *sigh*

At least I have this pretty finished basket!  Right?  And I will have my matching apron finished by the end of the year!  ha ha!

Thanks for stopping by and have a blessed day!

8 responses to “A Tisket, a Tasket, I Made a Napkin Basket

  1. The basket is AWESOME and what kind of sewing machine do you have? My first one (years ago) was a brother and I hated it, I had the same problem after putting in a new bobbin. My new one is still a brother but either I have learned how to thread it correctly or they fixed their problem LOL

  2. It’s beautiful, Jen! Do you feel kind of Amish? And I mean that as a supreme compliment! I love their baskets and this reminds me of that. I say you DO make one for every room. And then sell them and give them to friends (hahahahahaa!). 😉 xx

Leave a Reply

