Digital Scrapbooking: Union Woodshop

I want to apologize for my extended absence from this blog.  To be honest, sometimes I get overwhelmed by all the things that I want  to do and I need to remind myself of what I need to do.

What I need to do, sometimes, is take a break.  I just didn’t intend for the break to last this long.

There have been so many things going on around here lately.  Besides getting ready for Halloween and the approaching holiday season, one of my best friends came for a visit last week.  I was so excited to see her and we had a great time!  While she was here, I hosted a scrapbooking party at my friend Susan’s house.  Of course there was lots and lots of great food.  Some of my favorites were the almond biscotti, popcorn balls, meringue ghosts and dark chocolate caramel sea salt brownies.

*drool*

I hate to say it, but I didn’t take a single picture of the food.

Go ahead.  Yell at me.  I didn’t neglect the photos on purpose.  I just… forgot.  Bad Jen.  Bad, bad Jen.

I’ll just have to make it all again and take pictures next time!  Right? What a great excuse to do it again!

Until then, I have a digital layout I just finished.  My page print credits expire tomorrow and I’m rushing to finish a few more pages so I can order the prints.  I think this one is my favorite yet.

One thing I have found myself doing when scrapbooking digitally is making my photos roughly 4×6, just as I do in the traditional style.  I have to remind myself that I can make the pictures any size I want — and fit even more on a page!  Since I couldn’t narrow the photos from this day down to any less than ten and I only wanted one page, I shrunk them and made a simple grid pattern.

The epoxy frames came from a free digital kit I got off of 2Peas.   The woodgrain paper is from Creative Memories “Serene” digital kit; I changed the color from gray to sepia.  The other embellishments are from CM’s “Totally Fun” digital kit.

Now I just have two more layouts to finish before I can place my order.  I have a feeling the next two will be much simpler than this one!  This took me way too long to finish!  (But I like it a lot, so it was worth it.)

I hope you’re having a good weekend and staying warm.  I finally turned on the heat a little while ago.  Gotta keep the little fingers and toes warm.  To that end, I have added “find several great, go-to soup recipes” to my to-do list.  Do you have one you’d like to share with me?  I do love to hear from you!

8 responses to “Digital Scrapbooking: Union Woodshop

  1. Love the page! 🙂 I didn’t think to take any pictures of the food either – sorry! But it was all delicious!!!! Mmmm, you actually have me thinking about that dip right now. Which I forgot to get the recipe from you. Can you send it to me?

    Btw, my order came while I was gone! Creative Memories are super fast shippers – Mike said it arrived Wed or Thursday!

    • Dip recipe:
      2 large cans chicken breast
      1 can cream of chicken soup
      8 oz. cream cheese
      8 oz. velveeta cheese
      2 cups sour cream
      2 cloves minced garlic
      1/2 cup chopped onion

      Mix it all together and heat up in a slow cooker on low until melted — about 1/2 hour. Share with friends or else you’ll eat it all!

      Susan told me CM shipped your order the day after you left here, but they still hadn’t shipped hers/mine. Grr. I’m going to have to wait till next weekend to get my stuff. Oh, the suspense!!!

      • Thank you! I tried a similar recipe I found online. It was good, but I think I like yours more. There was no sour cream, but there was monterey jack cheese (I used mexican shredded cheese) and it had diced green pepper in it. It also called for grilled diced chicken, but I wasn’t sure the equivalent to canned chicken so I only used 1 can.

        Hope you get your CM stuff soon!

  2. Hi. I found your blog while searching for CM blogs. I’ve gone back and read some of the older entries and find it very interesting.

    We’ve just finished winter here in Australia and I made my soup many times. You mentioned you would like recipes so here is mine. I blogged about it earlier this year.

    http://deliciousfoodandtravel.wordpress.com/2012/07/12/is-there-anything-better-than-home-made-soup/

    It’s my own recipe and the only one I’ve ever made up myself. I hope you enjoy it if you decide to try it.

    • Thanks, Leanne!

      I checked out your soup recipe. The only ingredient I don’t recognize is swede. I’ll try googling it and see if it doesn’t ring a bell. Otherwise, the soup looks yummy! There really isn’t anything better than a bowl of hot, comforting, homemade soup!

      Now it’s my turn to check out the rest of your blog. 🙂 Thank you for the compliment and I hope you keep coming back!

  3. Love love the epoxy frames those are just great. The layout itself is beautiful but those epoxy frames are what drew me into the page.

  4. Pingback: [Free] Digital Paper Pack – Delicious Sugars « Pixeled Paper Designs·

Leave a Reply

