Homemade Candy Corn!

I don’t know about you, but I have the ability to make myself sick on candy corn.  There is just something about the stuff;  if there is candy corn in the room, I’m all over it.  If I’m not eating it, I’m thinking about eating it.

It is addictive.

Yesterday, Violet and I made our own candy corn.  We had to make a quick run to my mom’s house to borrow her candy thermometer, but other than that we had everything we needed.  I got the recipe out of my Food Network magazine and you can check it out here.

I love Alton Brown!

Just had to say that.

Violet was getting antsy, waiting for a task I would let her help with.  Finally, I let her cut the candy into pieces.  Then I realized the pizza cutter could cut her, so I gave her a butter knife instead.

This recipe was really quite easy to follow.  I plan on making it again and using less “white”, so the tips aren’t so long.  Some of the candy corns look kind of wonky.  My mom says they look like teeth.  I can see that.

Also, dear Alton says to make them orange, yellow, then white, but I beg to differ.  Candy corns must be yellow, then orange then white!

Just keepin’ it real.

Now I am really getting excited about Halloween.  The decorations are coming out this weekend!  I only wish that Halloween in the country was the same now as it was for me as a kid.  We don’t get any trick-or-treaters and have to go to organized Halloween events in order to participate in the holiday.  Last year, we went to the library and the City Park.  I’m not sure what we’re going to do this year, but Violet wants to be a ghost.

Maybe next year I’ll sew that awesome costume for her that I’ve been meaning to make for two years now!  We’ll see…

Have a spooktacular day!

4 responses to “Homemade Candy Corn!

  1. Now I know why you asked me multiple times if I like candy corn! Never knew there were recipes out there to make it yourself! Very cool!

    • 🙂 It has all become clear to you now, huh? Don’t worry, I still have a few surprises up my sleeve…

Leave a Reply

