Chocolate Crinkle Cookies

The cookies I took to the meeting at church last night were a big hit.  By “big hit”, I mean that I came home with an empty bowl.  The fewer delicious chocolate goodies I have in the house, the better.

Unfortunately, this recipe make about four dozen cookies and I have a lot left in the freezer.

My grandma loved them so much, I think I will give a bunch to her.  Can’t have them here — it is much too dangerous!

Chocolate Crinkle Cookies

1 c. shortening

3 1/3 c. sugar

4 tsp. vanilla

4 eggs

4 oz. chocolate, melted (this time, I used unsweetened cocoa powder, following the directions on the back of the package to use instead of Baker’s chocolate)

4 c. flour

4 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. salt

2/3 c. milk

powdered sugar

Cream shortening and sugar together until fluffy.  Beat in vanilla, eggs and chocolate.  In a separate bowl, mix together flour, baking powder and salt.  Add flour mixture to chocolate mixture in small amounts, alternately with the milk.

The cookie dough is going to be very soft and sticky.  Chill it in the refrigerator for 2 or 3 hours.  Then preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Use a small cookie scoop to form the dough into 1-inch balls and roll in powdered sugar.  (You can use your hands to form the balls, but they will get covered in chocolate goo!)

Place powdered sugar-covered balls on a parchment paper-lined baking sheet and bake for 15 minutes.  Cool slightly before removing from pan, then finish cooling on cooling racks.

 

This recipe has been in my family for as long as I can remember.  It was always one of my favorite cookies, because of the chocolate factor.  (Duh!)  They are soft and chewy and oh-so-good.

I think at some point the recipe was doubled, so if you don’t want four dozen cookies, you may want to halve the ingredients for a smaller yield — and fewer total calories consumed!

There are so many things I’ve been trying to plan for this month and slowly I am crossing them off my list.  Busy, busy month!  I have a lot of Autumn/Halloween treats I want to make, I have a dear friend coming to visit in less than two weeks and I need to decide what I’m cooking up for a scrapping party I’m throwing.  What great excuses to try new recipes!

Keep checking in here and I just may have a few treats (and tricks) for you!  😉 Have a great week!

 

5 responses to “Chocolate Crinkle Cookies

  1. I seriously have been looking for a crinkle recipe and the only ones I’ve found have too much crunch–woooooo! Thank you for sharing your special recipe! As you can see, I’m rather excited ! 🙂

    • Yay!! I’m excited too!
      Make them today and tell me how much you love them. Then go for a run. Then come back home and eat a few more. 😉

  2. These sound super yummy I’m going to have to print this recipe out for sure!! I make homemade cookies from scratch during the holidays I do this even more so I’m always looking for new recipes!

    • Beth, I was thinking as I made these cookies that it reminded me of holiday baking. There was just something about the smells that brought me back to my Bake Fest last year, when I made several different batches of cookies for the church bazaar. I am getting excited to do it all again! 🙂
      Thank you for commenting. I love hearing from other people!

Leave a Reply

