Homemade Cheese Crackers

I spent far too long trying to decide what refreshments to bring to the women’s meeting at church this week.  I wanted to go nuts and make a few treats I’ve never tried before, but didn’t want to spend a lot on special ingredients.  Instead, I opted to make homemade cheese crackers and chocolate crinkle cookies (I’ll share that recipe with you soon).

I didn’t even have to go to the store, since I had all the ingredients already!  I found the recipe for the crackers here at Cooking ala Mel.  And I’m so glad I did!

Violet loves rolling out dough!

I could have gone with the traditional square crackers, but that wouldn’t be as much fun as leaf-shaped crackers!  I love anything that reminds me that it is Autumn.

Do not forget to sprinkle some sea salt on top before baking!  I forgot to salt the first batch and they’re still good, but the salted crackers are oh so much better!

Violet wanted to take some pictures of the food, too.  My little Mini Me.

These crackers are so good I had to put them in a container and snap the lid on before I ate them all.  My only kvetch is that they aren’t crispy.  I left the second batch in the oven longer than the first in the hopes of crisping them up, but I was afraid I would burn them.  Next time I’ll leave them in even longer — and eat my mistakes if they get too brown!

Even though they’re not crunchy, these crackers are still the cat’s meow.

Did I just say that?

There are just four ingredients in there!  Cheese, butter, flour and salt.  That sure beats a long list of multi-syllable ingredients  of questionable origin.  I’m making room in my “favorites” cookbook for these suckers.

Maybe I need to go to Sam’s Club to buy a great big bag of cheese…

 

3 responses to “Homemade Cheese Crackers

  1. Pingback: Healthy Homemade Crackers | purplepixieindixie·

Leave a Reply

