Slow Cooker Cheesy Baked Potato Soup

After coming home yesterday to find one of my favorite shade trees had been destroyed by lightning, I was happy to at least have this soup waiting for me in the crock pot.  It was my first time making it (I found the recipe here) and I must admit to some doubts about its deliciousness.

Doubt not!  This soup is extraordinarily yummy!  The ultimate Fall comfort food.

Slow Cooker Cheesy Baked Potato Soup

1 cup water

32 oz. chicken broth

1/2 cup chopped yellow onion

1/2 cup chopped green onion, plus extra for topping

1/4 cup diced carrots

1 1/2 tsp. salt

1 tsp. ground pepper

32 oz. shredded hash brown potatoes

3 tbs. all-purpose flour

1 cup Heavy Cream

2 cups shredded cheddar cheese

several slices of bacon, cooked crisp and chopped, for garnish

chopped fresh chives, for garnish

In a 3-4 quart crock pot add water, broth, onion, green onion, carrot, salt, pepper, and potatoes.  Cook on low setting for 6-8 hours until potatoes are tender. Add flour to heavy cream and whisk until smooth. Add cream mixture to crock pot and cook on high for 20-30 minutes or until mixture is thickened.

Add cheddar cheese and stir until melted. Cook on low for 10-15 minutes then turn to “keep warm” setting.

When ready to serve, sprinkle crumbled bacon, fresh chive,  and a little green onion over each bowl of soup and serve warm.

 

This recipe is so good, it’s going right into my personal, handwritten recipe book.  I’m sure that it is going to become a go-to meal as the days continue to get cooler.

Mom and Grandma shared this meal with Violet and I and we all finished our [large] bowl of soup with a full stomach and a smile on our faces.  Even Violet ate some.  The trick was, I didn’t tell her it was potato soup (she doesn’t like taters).  I told her it was cheese soup, which wasn’t so far from the truth.  She ate several bites and even said it tasted good.

What really surprised me is that she wanted some of the chives I had available in a small bowl for garnish.  And she liked them!  This little girl used to love onions — she would eat them raw, just like her mommy.  But now she can’t stand them, so I assumed she wouldn’t like the chives.  I think if I had put them on her soup from the beginning, she would have turned up her nose.  There’s no telling with her.

By the way, you can see how much bacon, green onions and chives I put on top of my soup (and I ate several bites before remembering to take a picture).  Do not skimp on the garnish!!  The flavors are just fantastic!  Go ahead.  Sprinkle some more bacon on top.  I won’t judge.

I’m so happy this slow cooker experiment was a hit.  What is your favorite slow cooker recipe?

Leave a Reply

