PW — Recipes #9 & #10 — Ranch-Style Chicken & Twice-baked New Potatoes

It has been too long since I tried a new Pioneer Woman recipe.  So last night I tried two!  I spent far too long in the kitchen, what with preparing dinner and baking a pumpkin pie from scratch (more on that in a later post), but it was so worth it in the end.

Both of these recipes came out of The Pioneer Woman’s latest cookbook (buy it here), which has quickly become one of my all-time favorites.  You can also find them on her website.  To make it even easier for you, I already found the web pages for you!  Click here for the Ranch Style Chicken recipe and here for the Twice Baked New Potatoes.

First of all, this is the best chicken I have tasted in a long, long time.  It is so addictive!  Good thing the recipe calls for each chicken breast to be cut in half thickness-wise, because then I could justify taking a second piece.  The chicken is marinated in a honey/dijon mustard/paprika marinade for a couple of hours before cooking and that gives it an awesome sweetness that goes so well with the bacon and cheddar that is melted on top.

The only one of the four of us who didn’t eat it all (and then some) was Violet.  I blame it on the fact that she was nearly falling asleep at the table.  On the plus side, I got her in bed an hour earlier than normal!

Violet didn’t like the potatoes, either, but that was no surprise.  She is not a potato girl.

Gasp!  Doesn’t like potatoes, you say?!  I know!  Isn’t that crazy?

That’s okay.  More for the rest of us.

These new potatoes were baked, halved and scooped out.  Then, to the scooped out potato mush I added cream cheese, Monterey Jack cheese, sour cream, chives, garlic and salt & pepper.  It all got smashed together and put back in the potato shells.  Then it got baked again until it was brown on top.  They could have stayed in the oven longer, but we were in a hurry to eat them.

We were happy to eat them just the way they were.  Trust me, when you make these for yourself, do not eat all day until it is time for these puppies.  You want to have plenty of room in your stomach!

Yet again, Ree’s recipes lived up to my expectations.  Oh, and I still haven’t told you about her Oatmeal Cream Whoopie Pies!  …

Drooling…

I’ll have to save that for another day!

Thanks for stopping by!  Now I have got to go tend to some French Onion Soup I’m making.  It’s my first attempt.  Fingers crossed it turns out okay…

 

Leave a Reply

