Fall Comfort Muffins

It looks like we will harvest a total of three pumpkins from our garden this year.  We have a few more on the vines, but something is causing the plants to die and I don’t know if the remaining pumpkins will ripen fully.  This is our first year growing pumpkins and I’m happy we got what we did!  I pretty much just planted the seeds, watered them off and on for a week or two, then let them fend for themselves.

Our three little pumpkins gave us 9 cups of pumpkin puree.  I see some pumpkin pies in our future!

In order to get the puree, I cut the pumpkins in half, scooped out the seeds and stringy parts and baked them, cut side down, on a cookie sheet in the oven at 350-degrees for about 30 minutes.  After letting them cool for several minutes, I started scooping the good stuff out with a spoon; once I had some of it scooped out, I could actually turn the pumpkin inside-out and it was a lot easier to get the pulp.  Then I pureed it in batches in my food processor.  Now I have 2 bags of pumpkin puree in my freezer, just waiting for Thanksgiving dinner!

I couldn’t put it all in the freezer, though.  I had to use some to make these Fall Comfort Muffins I found in my wanderings online.  Here is the recipe as I made it:

Fall Comfort Muffins

  • 1 c. melted butter
  • 1 c. sugar
  • 1 c. honey
  • 4 eggs
  • 1/3 c. water
  • 2/3 c. mashed banana
  • 1 1/3 c. pumpkin puree
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 2 tsp. soda
  • 1 tsp. pumpkin pie spice
  • 2 c. white flour
  • 2 c. whole wheat flour
  • 1 c. chocolate chips

Blend sugar and butter.  Add honey, eggs, and water.  Mix well.  Add banana and pumpkin.  Mix well.  Stir dry ingredients together, add to wet batter just until combined.  Fold in chocolate chips.  Bake at 350 for 20 minutes.  Makes 2 dozen regular-sized muffins + 30 mini muffins.  (Dear Santa, please bring me another muffin tin for Christmas.  Thank you!)

Please disregard the mess in the background.  The house hadn’t quite recovered from falling into ruin during the Great Tomato Event.  Since this photo was taken, the table has been cleared off and looks much better!

These muffins are very yummy, but I was slightly disappointed that the banana flavor overpowered the pumpkin.  The original recipe called for equal parts banana and pumpkin; next time, I will skew the ratio even more and see if I like it better.  In any case, this recipe is a keeper!  It’s a great way to use some pumpkin puree and isn’t totally unhealthy either.

**I just found a website (click here) where you can enter in the ingredients in your recipe along with the number of servings and it will calculate the nutritional information per serving.  According to my calculations (Please do not take this as gospel.  I could be off a little bit!!) each full-sized muffin has 189 calories, 7.9 grams of fat (4.7 saturated), 162 mg sodium, 1.7 g dietary fiber and 2.5 g protein.

Like I said, not too bad for a tasty treat.  This and a cup of coffee on a chilly Fall morning?  Heaven.

I hope you’re having a fantastic holiday weekend.  Thanks for stopping by and God bless!

Leave a Reply

