DIY Baking Mix and Sausage & Cheese Muffins

Something I have been thinking a lot about lately is making more food from scratch and buying fewer processed foods.  I am by no means a health fanatic (perhaps I should be), but I do believe that the more foods I can make with natural ingredients the better off we’ll be.  I’m tired of reading the long list of hard-to-pronounce ingredients on the packages of food that I feed to my daughter.  It shouldn’t be that hard to make our food myself — I just need to figure out what works for us and get into the habit of doing it.

A while back, I found a recipe on Bacon In My Pocket for homemade baking mix (you know, the kind we reach for to mix up pancakes and biscuits). You can check out my source here. Yesterday, Violet and I mixed up a batch.  We used:

6 c. white flour

4 c. whole wheat flour

½ c. baking powder

¼ c. sugar

2 tsp. salt

2 c. coconut oil

3 c. quick oats

Mix it all up with a pastry cutter, using the biggest bowl you have.  I underestimated the size of this and had to transfer to a bigger bowl halfway through.  Store the mix in an airtight container, such as an ice cream tub.  (Hey, what a great reason to go buy a bunch of ice cream today!)

The original post said it should last up to six months, but I don’t think it will last nearly that long around here.  It can be used to make pancakes, waffles, biscuits or anything else that you use the name brand stuff for.

I started out by using my baking mix in a recipe for Sausage & Cheese Muffins.  I found the recipe here on Plain Chicken.  My thought was that these would be a good thing to make and stick in the freezer for a quick breakfast option.  It would probably be a good idea to add some fresh fruit to your plate, so you feel like you ate a healthy meal.  These things are so addictive, you just may fill up on them before you realize what’s happened.

Sausage & Cheese Muffins

1 lb. ground pork sausage

1 tsp onion powder

3 cups all-purpose baking mix  (use your homemade mix!)

1 (10.75 oz) can condensed fiesta nacho cheese soup

2 cups shredded Cheddar cheese

3/4 cup buttermilk

Cook sausage and onion in a large skillet over medium to med-high heat, stirring until it crumbles and no longer pink. Drain and cool.

Preheat oven to 375. Combine sausage, baking mix, and shredded cheese in a large bowl. Make a well in the center of the mixture. Stir together the soup and buttermilk; add to sausage mixture, stirring just until dry ingredients are moistened. Spoon until lightly greased mini muffin tins, filling to tops of cups. Bake for 15-18 minutes or until lightly browned.

After working in the kitchen for a good part of the morning, Violet and I went out to the garden and picked a watermelon.  This is the third watermelon that has been harvested; the first one was white inside and the second was just starting to turn pink.  Third time’s a charm!

Oh, so sweet!  Violet and the watermelon both.

This is the life.

Have a fantastic weekend!

Leave a Reply

