Camping — Day 4: Bears in the Snow and then Back Home

We did it!  We survived three nights in a tent in Pigeon Forge (and we’re all still talking to each other)!

I woke up on our final morning at camp happy to have had such a great vacation, but ready to go home.  We just barely beat the horrendous heat wave headed toward us.  Thursday (the day we left) the high temperature was above 100 degrees and it stayed that way for four days!

Yep.  Time to head for home.  (…and air conditioning)

Outside of the aquarium, where we parked, was this creepy Uncle Sam inflatable. It took a lot of encouragement to get Violet to stand so close to him.

 

For breakfast, we headed to The Pancake Pantry in Gatlinburg.  Apparently, it is the original pancake house.  And if you’ve ever been to Gatlinburg, you know that being the first pancake house among dozens is quite a distinction.  I wanted to see what has kept this place open since 1960.

That, and I was also really hungry.

One of the few times Violet has been given chocolate milk. Vacations are awesome!

Violet chose Bears in the Snow for breakfast. She ate some snow first, then she ate their eyes, noses and… belly buttons?

After breakfast, we strolled around some of the shops in The Village.  The sun was getting hot, though, and my wallet was empty.  That’s my cue.

Violet loves going through tunnels. This was the last tunnel of our trip.

 

Goodbye, Smoky Mountains.  It was fun camping and playing in your shadow.  I can’t wait to come explore you some more.  Don’t worry, it won’t be long before we meet again.

6 responses to “Camping — Day 4: Bears in the Snow and then Back Home

  1. I want to go camping so badly but with three kids, we are a little chicken. Maybe, someday?? How did Violet enjoy it?

    • She loved it! It was so exciting for her. She normally sleeps fitfully at night, but it was no worse in the tent.
      I would be chicken with 3 kids, too! What are their ages?
      Violet never had a chance to get bored, either. I was worried about that, but when we weren’t doing something outside the campground, “camping” things kept her busy. Like the swimming pool, the playground, playing in the tent, eating s’mores…

      • Nice! I think that’s my biggest fear – that they will get bored, or that they will wonder away when we’re not looking. My kids are 7, 5, and nearly 2. At times, I think we just need to do it and learn as we go. Other times, I think we need to wait until they are a little older. I guess we will know when the right time is 🙂

      • Wow! Kudos to you for even considering it! 😉
        You will probably know when the time is right. My thought was that I want to get Violet used to camping, and enjoying it, before she gets older and decides she doesn’t want to do it at all. If I can get her hooked on it, then maybe that is something we can always enjoy as a family. 🙂

  2. SO fun! I love her little bear breakfast, too 🙂 Glad you had a great time! Camping is probably Annalise’s favorite thing to do besides swimming. They shall camp together one day 🙂 Ooo!

Leave a Reply

