Happy 3rd Birthday, Violet!

My baby turned three years old on Saturday!  I can hardly believe that it has been three years since she came screaming into our lives and turned our world upside-down.  Nothing will ever be the same — and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

I meant to get this post up sooner, but we went on our first-ever camping trip (in a tent!) and just returned home yesterday.  More on that later.

One of the first things out of Violet’s mouth on her birthday was concern that she did not yet have a birthday cake.  She was genuinely upset that she didn’t have one.  Like I could forget something so important!  I just wanted it to be a surprise, so Daddy took Violet to the park to fly a kite and play while I baked the cake.

When they returned a few hours later, I had the cake ready, a few decorations hung and the presents ready to be torn open.  One of the things Violet had repeatedly asked for was a magnifying glass.  Dave picked one up at a truck stop and Violet loves it.

Daddy also got his little girl a package of a gajillion temporary glitter tattoos, with which Violet immediately wanted to adorn her entire body.  Here is her first “ink.”

After the teaser round of present-opening, Violet’s grandma came over bearing gifts.  While we chatted, Violet came into the kitchen carrying dragging a rather heavy present and proceeded to rip the paper off without saying a word.

“Legos!”

Silly Clover.

It may sound silly, but another thing that Violet really wanted was her very own broom.  I think this is a fantastic idea and I look forward to the day when she is an expert sweeper and can take on this task as her own.  (Yay!)

She may not have received the camera that she wants, but all in all the kid made out like a bandit.  I loved watching her rip open the packages and for the first time be really excited about what was inside the wrapping paper.

Honestly, I was most excited about the cake.

Several months ago I saw on Pinterest an idea for a six-layered rainbow cake.  I loved the idea and knew I wanted to make one for Violet’s birthday.

The cake was so easy to make.  All I did was mix up a box cake mix (white cake), separate it into six equal parts and add a little gel coloring to each bowl.  I used red, orange, yellow, green, blue and purple — sorry, Indigo.  Then I poured each bowl’s batter into its own round cake pan and baked them for about ten minutes.  I had to bake the layers in two batches of three cakes pans each.

Instead of dyeing the frosting and having the layers be visible, I opted to have white frosting between each layer and covering the outside of the cake.  This way, it would be a surprise when I cut that first piece and laid a rainbow on Violet’s plate.

Going with the rainbow cake theme, the cake topper was a My Little Pony named Rainbow Dash.  I grew up with My Little Pony’s and I think I like the thing more than Violet does.

The picture does not do the cake justice.  It was so beautiful — I don’t think I have ever enjoyed eating a cake as much as this one.  It was just so pretty to look at!  The layers felt light and fluffy, too.  Everyone loved it and the reaction from Violet was all I had hoped for.

Happy birthday, baby girl.  I love you so much!!!

3 responses to “Happy 3rd Birthday, Violet!

  1. That cake is beautiful, Jen! What a fun 3rd bday! 🙂 Now the girls are the same age for a bit 🙂 Clover is awfully cute as well. I love the broom photo! Is she helping each morning as soon as she wakes? Hmmm? Lise asked for a vacuum when was turning 2 I think? Maybe we can get them to iron next? Too soon? Can’t wait for your camping posts!

    • LOL
      It may be just a little early for ironing, but she can totally weed-eat the yard for me. (Just kidding!!) I need to teach her how to sweep. Planning on working on that this week. 🙂

  2. Awwwww congratulations to your daughter turning 3….My little one is 4 and I remember enjoying her 3 year old birthday. It truly is the first birthday where they really do enjoy opening their presents. Beautiful cake I am vaguely toying with the idea of being that ambitious to create a rainbow cake myself!

Leave a Reply

