Strawberry Marshmallow & Cracker Cake

We had friends over to our house for dinner last night and had a blast!  Watching the three girls — 2, 3 and 4 years old — playing, running, screaming and exploring outside just made my whole day.  Not to mention my good friend and her husband came over to act as guinea pigs for my cooking experiments.  What could be better?

For dinner I made Honey Sesame Chicken in the slow cooker.  It is a recipe my mom found on Pinterest recently, but hadn’t tried yet.  Instead of serving it on rice, I decided to put it on King’s Hawaiian buns and make sliders.

They. Were. So. Good.

Seriously.  I held back and only ate two sliders, but I wanted to lick the crock pot clean.  The chicken breasts were so tender and juicy and the sauce was just the right amount of sweet.

The only problem is, I was so busy savoring the food that I forgot to take a picture of it.  Whoops!  So instead of sharing the Honey Sesame Chicken recipe with you today, I will show you dessert.

For dessert I made Strawberry Marshmallow & Cracker Cake.  This was another recipe that I had never tried before, which I found in the July/August 2012 issue of Rachael Ray magazine.  See?  I’m actually cooking those recipes that I’m ripping out!

*patting myself on the back*

I didn’t know what to expect with this “cake.”  On one hand, it looked good.  On the other hand, Ritz crackers?  Hmm…  I had to try it and see.

And guess what?  It was good!  The flavors were really nice, but by the last few bites of my piece it was almost too sweet.  Everyone liked it, though, so I’d call that success.

Want to try it for yourself?

Strawberry Marshmallow & Cracker Cake

2 pkg. (¼ oz. each) unflavored powdered gelatin

1 lb. fresh strawberries, rinsed and dried

1 sleeve (I had to use more) butter crackers, such as Ritz

1 T. sugar

1 c. heavy cream

16 oz. marshmallow cream

          1.  Place ½ cup cold water in a small bowl; sprinkle the gelatin on top and let stand for 5 minutes to soften.  Transfer to the microwave and cook at medium power until melted and smooth, 30 seconds.

          2.  Set aside 8 perfect strawberries and 8 crackers for a garnish.  Hull and slice the remaining strawberries.  Transfer 1 ½ cups of the berries to a food processor; add the sugar and process until pureed.  Add the gelatin and process briefly to blend.  Strain the berry puree through a fine-mesh sieve, pressing and stirring with a spatula as needed, to remove any seeds.

          3.  Using and electric mixer, whip the heavy cream until stiff.  Whisk in the strawberry puree.  Add the marshmallow cream, mixing at low speed, then increasing to medium, until nearly smooth.  (The mixture will seem thin, but it will set in the refrigerator.)

          4.  Lightly grease an 8-inch springform pan (I only had a 9-inch, so my layers were thinner and I used more crackers).  Place a layer of crackers on the bottom of the pan to cover, breaking a few of them in half as needed to fit into an even layer.  Spoon one-third of the marshmallow mixture on top; top with another layer of crackers, then spoon half of the sliced berries on top.  Add another third of the marshmallow mixture, another layer of crackers and the remaining sliced berries.  Top with the remaining marshmallow mixture.  Arrange the reserved 8 crackers to form a ring along the outside edge.  Refrigerate the cake overnight.

          5.  Halve the 8 reserved strawberries and place on top of the crackers.  Cut the cake with a warmed thin, sharp knife.

 

If you like strawberries, then chances are you will like this dessert.

Did I mention that today is Violet’s 3rd birthday?  I can’t believe my baby is 3 years old!  I can’t stay and chat, either, because I have a cake to frost!  Have a great weekend!

4 responses to “Strawberry Marshmallow & Cracker Cake

Leave a Reply

