Go Green Pasta

For Father’s Day I decided to make Dave my guinea pig.  Violet and Mom, too, but they’re used to eating new, “weird” recipes I find in magazines.  Dave often isn’t so lucky.

One of my vices is that every month I rip a dozen or more interesting recipes out of the many magazines I receive and promptly pile them on the stack of paper clutter on my kitchen counter.

I am fairly certain that was not a run-on sentence.

Last week, I resolved to cook the recipes in the same month that I rip them out of the magazine.  Often, the recipe calls for ingredients that are in-season; what better time to cook them than now?  I can quickly find out whether or not the recipe is a keeper and toss it if it isn’t.

The July/August issue of Rachael Ray magazine has a recipe called Go-Green Linguine.  My body must be craving green vegetables, because it looked oddly appetizing to me.  Mom thought it looked… unappetizing.  It’s funny how my tastes have changed over the past several years; in the past I would have thought this looked revolting.

Go-Green Pasta

¾ lb. spinach fettuccine

2 oz. salami, thinly sliced, then cut into 1-inch strips

3 T. olive oil

4 cloves garlic, chopped

½ napa cabbage (1 lb.), quartered, then thinly sliced

1 pkg. (5 oz.) baby arugula

          1.  In a large pot of boiling, salted water, cook the pasta until al dente.  Reserve ¾ cup cooking water, then drain the pasta.  

          2.  Meanwhile, in an extra-large, heavy skillet, cook the salami over medium-high heat, stirring occasionally, until crisp, 2 to 3 minutes; transfer to a plate.  Add the olive oil and garlic to the pan and cook, stirring, until golden, 1 minute.  Stir in the cabbage, ½ teaspoon salt and ¼ teaspoon pepper; cook until the cabbage is crisp-tender, 3 to 4 minutes.  Add the arugula and cook, tossing, until just wilted.

          3.  Add the drained pasta and reserved cooking water to the skillet, tossing well to mix; season with salt and pepper.  Top with the salami and serve.

 

The original recipe called for spinach linguine, but I couldn’t find it in the store so I substituted the fettuccine.  The recipe also suggested cooking 2 T. coarsely chopped walnuts in a dry skillet until fragrant and sprinkling them on top of the finished pasta.  I was feeling a little rushed that evening so I didn’t try the toasted nuts, but I will next time.

“Next time” I say?  Yes!  This actually was quite tasty.  Violet ate everything on her plate.  Dave had seconds.  Even Mom said it was pretty good.  It’s definitely a keeper.  I’ll probably make it once per month or so.

That same night I served my first-ever cheesecake.  I should clarify that it was my first time ever making a cheesecake, not my first time ever eating one.  This one was chocolate.

Yum.

When it comes to Father’s Day dinners, this one may not have been steaks and potatoes, but I think we would all agree it was a success nonetheless.  Now if you will excuse me, I have about 2,483 recipes in a pile that I need to cook.

Give or take 300.

2 responses to “Go Green Pasta

  1. Good for you on experimenting with recipes. I tried that briefly, but I’m too picky of an eater. (surprising I know)

    I love vegetable pastas – so the green pasta does not turn me off of this recipe at all. But at first glance I did wonder why in the world someone would put pepperoni on pasta?! At closer read I see it is not really pepperoni – still I think I will let you enjoy this recipe since I don’t like cabbage or salami. 🙂

    • I had already decided that next time I will try it with bacon. I think any salty meat would work. You could omit the cabbage, too. It’s worth a shot, anyway. You might like it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

