Hummingbirds

The hummingbirds are out in force today.  As I type this, I see them constantly coming and going from the feeder we have hanging in the front yard.  They are celebrating their fresh food and clean feeder, which I washed this morning.  After I re-hung the feeders, I turned on my camera and stood, poised, on the porch waiting for the beauties to arrive.

It literally only took one minute.

This girl was checking me out. She actually flew closer to me than this picture shows, hovering in front of my face and staring me down.

 

I was standing just two feet away from the feeder when I took these photos.  Gradually, I inched closer to the birds as they started to get used to me.  Two of them buzzed past my head once, close enough to give me goosebumps.  I can’t help but imagine what would happen if I got speared by one of those long beaks!

The feeder in the backyard is right outside the window above the kitchen sink.  Later, I may kneel on the counter and try to get some shots of the birds there.  A few years ago, I took the most fantastic photographs of hummingbirds that way!  I can get super close without spooking them.  Might have to wash the window first, though…

Have a great Memorial Day!  Enjoy your burgers and dogs and remember to think of those who lost their lives serving our country.  God bless you!

10 responses to “Hummingbirds

Leave a Reply

