Charmed, I’m Sure

If you were a little girl in the 1980’s, like I was, what I came across while going through old boxes may look familiar to you.

It was probably 1985 or ’86 when charm necklaces and bracelets were really popular.  I remember my mom driving me to the mall because there was a big sale going on, with a million charms to choose from.  They were usually made out of plastic, with a little bell on each one.

Violet fell in love when she saw my colorful collection of a seemingly random variety of charms.  There is everything from a toilet

to a stick of Wrigley’s gum, an abacus, sea shell, a fire extinguisher (?) and Jesus on the cross.  I remember one of my favorites was a tiny bottle of Coca-Cola.  It had a dark liquid inside of it at one time, but it’s dried up now.

Violet and I had a lot of fun playing with these dumb things.  Every time I dig out some old toy from my childhood, I am so grateful that I was able to keep so many things.  We moved several times when I was a kid, and we had a lot of garage sales.  At some point, my record player and all of my records (not music records, but read-aloud stories) got sold.  I still mourn the loss of those records.  But I kept a lot of books, My Little Ponies, Strawberry Shortcake and other things like these charms.

Now it gives me such joy to be able to share these things with Violet and to watch her play with them and have fun with them like I did when I was a kid.  In a way, it’s like I get to relive my childhood all over again, through Violet.

How lucky am I?!

6 responses to “Charmed, I’m Sure

  1. Now that you reminded me, I remember having a decent collection. Honestly couldn’t tell you what they were though, lol. I totally forgot about them, but it did bring back some memories. Think I drove my mom insane with the whistle, lol ;p

  2. LOL, I had forgotten all about those as well till I saw the first picture of Violet with them! Wow, I loved those things!!! So cool that you were able to save them & share them with her! I do wonder though why you ever had a toilet one?! 🙂

    • Who knows? Maybe because I thought it was odd… and I have always been a bit odd myself.
      I’m glad I could remind you of these childhood treasures. 🙂

Leave a Reply

