Violet’s Grandpa Gives Us a Tour of Port Huron

Who knew my dad was such a great tour guide?  I don’t remember that from our vacations when I was a child; I just remember sitting in the backseat, wishing we were out of the car and in the hotel pool.

On Tuesday Mom, Violet and I drove up to Port Huron to visit Dad and ended up on an impromptu tour of the city.  He drove us all around town, along the waterfront and gave us a constant stream of valuable information that I could never hope to remember without the help of a tape recorder.

For those of you who don’t know, Port Huron’s Blue Water Bridge is a major international crossing over the St. Clair river at the southern end of Lake Huron.  An average of 14,000 vehicles per day cross the Blue Water Bridge.

Before we got to the waterfront, we passed many beautiful, old buildings.  I really love old architecture, especially houses like these.  Every time I drive through Detroit I stare at the gorgeous old churches and mansions.  These houses in Port Huron are in a bit better shape than the ones I see in Detroit, though.

The USCGC Bramble was most recently a museum ship, but closed to the public in August 2011.  If you have a spare $300,000 lying around, she can be yours for the taking.

This is an old railroad drawbridge.  This railroad is no longer in use and a lot of the tracks have been removed.

This old buoy is now being used as decoration in front of an office building.  Cool lawn ornament, huh?

Ahh!  Here is our first good view of the Blue Water Bridge.  We saw that there was a very interesting fog forming over the water and beginning to obscure the bridge, so we got back in the car and drove closer for a better look.

The huge cloud of fog grew bigger and bigger until the bridge simply disappeared into it.  Violet loved walking along the river, but it was rather frightening to look over the rails at the frigid, rushing water.  Mom and I kept a tight grip on Violet.

This statue of Thomas Edison stands in front of the Thomas Edison Depot Museum.  We didn’t pay to go in, but it is interesting to note that this is the actual depot that Tom worked out of between 1859 and 1863.

Thank you, bird, for flying into my photograph.  You made it one of my favorites!

Another of my favorite photos from today, this shows the Blue Water Maiden, which was donated to the City of Port Huron in 1966.

I just thought this looked cool.  I don’t have any interesting facts for you.

After our tour, Dad took us out to lunch.  Violet got to sit next to her Grandpa and that made her very happy.

I couldn’t be happier with the day we spent with Dad.  Violet talks about him every day — just a short while ago she mentioned his mustache, ha ha — and I’m so grateful that she got to spend some quality time with him.

What I’m most grateful for, though, is that I got to spend some quality time with him. I missed my dad!  And until I get to visit with him in person again, I’ve got some great pictures to look at and remember this very cool day.

6 responses to “Violet’s Grandpa Gives Us a Tour of Port Huron

Leave a Reply

