Strawberry Lemon Scones

Nearly everything that I made for the party last Monday was new to me.  The only recipe I had followed before was the Pineapple Waldorf Salad.  The rest were all risks, not knowing how they would turn out or if they would even be palatable.

Luckily, there were no gastronomical disasters.

There were, however, several humorous moments.  Unfortunately, no one else was around to laugh about them with me.  While making the Strawberry Lemon Scones, I sincerely wished I had someone else in the house to take a picture of me.  You see, I apparently made the dough too wet, because when I attempted to knead it, my hands quickly became coated in sticky dough that would only come off under a faucet spewing warm water.  My hands looked like the appendages of some 1950s movie monster — all lumpy and gloppy and drippy.

Once I got my hands rinsed off, I added enough flour to the surface of the dough — and my hands, and the work surface — to be able to work it into a circle and cut it into slices.  With the slices on the cookie sheets, I could finally breath a sigh of relief.  Now I just had to wait and see how the finished product tasted.

They were good!

I brought a fresh, still-warm scone to Mom that afternoon.  I think she liked it even more than I did. Her lip smacking noises were music to my ears.

Originally, I found these scones on Pinterest, but followed the link back to What’s Cookin’, Chicago?

Without further ado:

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

Strawberry Lemon Scones

2 cups flour
3 tablespoons sugar
2 teaspoons. baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
4 tablespoons butter, cold, cut into 1/2 inch cubes
Rind of 1 freshly grated lemon
1 cup chopped fresh strawberries
3/4 cup plain yogurt

 

Frosting:
1 tablespoon half and half
1 tablespoon lemon juice
confectioner’s sugar

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

Stir together dry ingredients. With a pastry cutter or two knives, cut in butter until mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Stir in strawberries and lemon rind. Stir in enough yogurt to be able to form dough into a ball (up to 3/4 cup).

Turn dough onto floured surface and with floured hands, knead a few times. Press dough into a rectangle, about 1 1/2 inches thick. Fold rectangle into thirds, like a letter. Press dough into 9-inch round. Cut into 8 equal triangles.

Place scones into scone pan or on a cookie sheet covered with parchment paper. Bake until golden, about 15 minutes. Remove to rack to cool.

Whisk confectioner’s sugar into the lemon juice and half and half, adding more sugar until desired consistency is reached. Frost scones while warm.

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

If you decide to make these for yourself, be sure to swing by here and let me know!  I love to hear about what you’re up to!

7 responses to “Strawberry Lemon Scones

  1. My past experience with scones was that they were dry and almost tasteless. OMG! These truly melted in my mouth! Awesome strawberry flavor.

    • These were definitely not dry. They were probably moister than normal scones because my dough was so wet. I’ve never made scones before, so it’s all new to me.
      I’m glad you liked them!

Leave a Reply

