After-Party Hangover

My garden party-themed scrapbooking night was a smashing success!  It must have been, judging from the splitting headache I woke up with this morning.  I’ve been doctoring it with a variety of lovely leftovers and the pain has begun to recede.  Thank you, sugar and coffee.

Even though I didn’t make nearly as many decorations as I had dreamed of, I think the scene I was trying to set turned out very nicely.

One of my favorite new tricks is to create ruffled streamers by sewing two (or three) crepe paper streamers together on the sewing machine, using the highest tension and the longest stitch options.  I found the tutorial for this here and made my own pink and green version, which I love.

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

The menu:

Pioneer Woman’s Hummus

Pineapple Waldorf Salad

Spinach Gruyere Puff Pastry Pinwheels

Strawberry Lemon Scones

PW’s Cherry Limeade

Dirt Cake

PW’s Oatmeal Whoopie Pies

Frosted Lemon Sugar Cookies

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

What a spread!  I got so many compliments on the food (and the decor); it made all the time and effort so worth it.  I loved the reactions I got from my friends as they devoured the yummy treats.

By the way, over the next few days I will share with you the recipes for several of these dishes.  Today, however, I’ve still got some recovering to do.  My mom is patiently waiting for me to come pick Violet up from her house (she slept over there last night), Dave is due home in a couple hours (he’ll be home just one day before he has to leave again) and I’ve got about four loads of clean clothes piled up on the couch in the living room.

No, I am not exaggerating about the clothes.

At least there are leftovers!  😉

5 responses to “After-Party Hangover

  1. Pingback: PW — Recipe #11 — Oatmeal Whoopie Pies | purplepixieindixie·

Leave a Reply

