Making Rice Krispies Treat Eggs

They’re actually called Hidden Surprise Easter Egg Treats and I’ve been seeing the commercial for them a lot lately.

Have you seen it?

The ad shows a mom and her two small children enjoying some heartwarming bonding time as they make these lovely Easter delights together.  Most of the commercial is shot in black and white, with highlights of blue (like the blue cereal box).  Everyone is smiling, the kids are perfectly well behaved and Mommy looks like she took a valium before the whole deal started.

Our scene didn’t quite play out that way.

Hidden Surprise Easter Egg Treats

Step 1:  Wash the jumbo-size plastic eggs you just bought at Walmart.  Let the kid play with the bubbles.

Step 2:  Put the kid to work drying the eggs.

I swear I brushed Violet's hair today! Must be the humidity. Poor girl.

Step 3:  Measure 6 cups Rice Krispies cereal into a large bowl.  Violet is getting good at pouring ingredients.

Step 4:  Melt three tablespoons butter in a large saucepan over low heat.  Once the butter is melted, add an entire package of regular marshmallows.

If you’re using mini-marshmallows, measure four cups.  I don’t know how many cups of minis are in a package; rather than have to measure them, I just bought the regular size.  Lazy, I know.

Step 5:  When the marshmallows are all melted, pour them into the bowl with the cereal and stir it all up until it is mixed well.

Step 6:  Using the plastic eggs as molds, press ¼ cup cereal mixture into each egg half. Then make a hollow in the center of each half using your finger.  Place a few M&Ms in the middle and press the two halves together.

This is where we ran into problems.

**Tip 1:  Spray the inside of the plastic eggs with cooking spray.

**Tip 2:  Grease your hands!  Otherwise very quickly it is going to look like you’re Spider-Man, with long, white, sticky strands of melted marshmallow hanging from every finger.

**Tip 3:  Take your time.  This isn’t going to harden into cement any time soon.

**Tip 4:  Designate a photographer who is not going to be sticking their hands into this gooey mess.  I had to keep washing my hands with soap before I could take a picture (see Tip 2).

Step 7:  Taste it to make sure it’s okay.

Step 8:  After hiding your little chocolate treasures inside and pressing the halves together, leave them inside the molds for a while.  My eggs were falling apart, probably because they were still a bit too warm.

Step 9:  Eat ’em up!  I don’t have a picture of this step, because my fingers were busy getting sticky again.  Yum.

My mom said she thought the recipe she used to use called for vanilla.  I followed the recipe on the box (just butter, marshmallows and rice krispies) and they’re great.  I can’t help but wonder, though…  What if I added almond extract to the melted marshmallows? I absolutely love almond flavor.  I’ll have to try that next time.

Violet loved making these eggs.  Rather, she loved eating all the ingredients separately, then eating the finished product as well.  I’m sure she’ll be asking for “eggs” for breakfast!

 

3 responses to “Making Rice Krispies Treat Eggs

Leave a Reply

