Peas are Popping Up in the Kitchen Bed!

     As I stepped out the back door this morning, on my way to hang some towels on the clothes line (the rain puts an end to our beautiful weather tomorrow), I looked to my right with anticipation.

     Yay!  Tiny green shoots are poking out of the dirt, in a nearly-perfect straight line.  If you didn’t know what you were looking for, you might just miss them.  

     It simply amazes me how things like this can happen overnight. 

     The little seeking vines on the bigger peas weren’t there yesterday.  

     Looks like I need to hurry up and get some trellis for the peas to climb!  

     I’ll get right on that.

9 responses to “Peas are Popping Up in the Kitchen Bed!

  1. Awesome! Just yesterday I planted some carrot seeds in a big rectangular pot. I’m hoping some will grow so that at least my two year old understands that carrots grow from the ground. I hope I’ll see some peeking out of the ground soon too!

    • We planted carrots last year, but I haven’t decided if we will this year. They are so much fun to pull up, but at the same time, I don’t even like carrots very much! And last year ours all grew to be stubby and deformed. I hope yours grow big and strong. 😉
      Thanks for commenting!

  2. I feel your excitement! My peas took two weeks to germinate, and I was sure they were goners… but then they burst out in fine form! Good luck with your trellis. I’d say you’ve got at least a week to work on it…

Leave a Reply

