Highlights of Our Day

     Dave and I are both sipping coffee and playing on our computers, trying to recover from what was a fantastic day of shopping yesterday.

     It was wonderful.  

     We stopped at twelve different places — thirteen if you count the gas station.  I know this because when we got home we wrote out a list and added up all the receipts.

     Ouch.

     Happy birthday to us!

     Being a scrapbooker and blogger, I should have just gone nuts with the camera, but I did not.  I never do.  Usually, I am kicking myself later for not taking a picture of such-and-such (or not taking any at all).  I did take a few, though.

     Want to see?

     First, we stopped at Walmart’s Eye Center so Dave could get his eyes checked and order prescription sunglasses.  (Darn.  I should have taken a picture of him trying on glasses.)

     Glasses cost way too much and we walked out of there a little stunned, with Dave declaring that he would not get anything else for himself on this day.  I then declared, “Fine!  Then I want some swimming trunks!”

     Onward.

     After grabbing a snack at Chick-Fil-A, we had to stop here, the Mecca of all crafters.  Usually, I have a heckuva time checking everything out, because Violet insists she spend the entire time playing with the toys and reading the books.  So today I walked up and down nearly every aisle, with Dave by my side, making me laugh.

     Oh!  I forgot to mention something very exciting (to me).  At Walmart I picked up (and paid for) The Pioneer Woman’s new cookbook, which was just released on Tuesday.

     You can expect some blog posts about the recipes in this book in the not-so-distant future.  Ree is such a great photographer, every dish looks so delicious.

     So then we finally made it into Lexington and shopped in several more stores.  Dave got his swimming trunks.

     Why are they called swimming trunks?  Or is that just me?  Should I be calling them shorts?

     While we were in Target I saw this Easter bunny and whipped out my camera.

     “texter YOUR TEXTING BUNNY BFF”  

     Really?  

     I don’t even know what to say about this.

     The culmination of our day of shopping was our arrival at Joseph-Beth Booksellers, one of the biggest bookstores I have ever been in.  There is a 4-story used and rare bookstore in Detroit, called John King Books — also one of my favorites — but Joseph-Beth may be my favorite “new” bookstore.  

     It is beautiful. 

     *sigh*

     I was able to wander around to my heart’s content.  Dave got lost in a gardening book and I just walked around, touching dust jackets, reading excerpts, perusing the extensive magazine selection and then finally taking the escalator downstairs into the children’s section.

     Violet really made out like a bandit today and she wasn’t even with us!  Oh, sweet child, you were with us all day long and didn’t even know it.

     Here is something Dave found and had to show to me.  It is a reusable tote bag sporting the likeness of our First Lady, Michelle Obama.

     Oh my.

     I don’t really know what to say about this, either, except that I find it incredibly amusing.  

     I don’t know what my favorite part is,  the catch line “First Lady of FABULOUS” or the frolicking fawn or perhaps the White House floating down from the sky with a parachute?  

     Just wow.

     If any of you reading this are fans of “Mighty Michelle,”  the bag cost $12 and I’m sure if you contact Joseph-Beth you can be the proud owner of this lovely… bag.

     Anywho.

     I neglected to take any pictures at dinner (Shame on me! Shame!).  We went to BD’s Mongolian Grill and left stuffed.  I have been craving this restaurant ever since I moved here (I had eaten here a few times when I lived in Michigan) and this really satisfied my desire for it.  Dave had never eaten at BD’s before, so it was kind of interesting for him.  Next time we go out, I will let him choose the venue.

     All in all, it was a wonderful day out together and we arrived home exhausted.  The cherry on top of the day was the lightning show on our way home and the thunderstorm that we enjoyed soon after getting into the house.

     Happy birthday to us!

9 responses to “Highlights of Our Day

  1. Sounds like a lovely day! Glad you had a wonderful time with Dave. That bookstore looks amazing. Is it all new books? And props to Dave for following you down every aisle of Michaels–true love. 🙂 Can’t wait to hear what you cook out of P-Dub’s new book! I’m loving her 1st book so you’re convincing me to get the 2nd. Also, I can’t wait to see what the gift is, too….

    • It is all new books in that bookstore.
      And for the record, Dave did wander off in Michael’s to “go to the bathroom.” LOL But he was a great purse-holder, all day long (my purse got really heavy! *whimper*).
      The bookstore had all of Ree’s books. I wanted to buy all of them, but resisted.

Leave a Reply

