Morning Glory Breakfast Muffins

Mornings around here sometimes remind me of a hostage situation, with Violet belting out her list of demands and me sweating in an effort to diffuse the bomb.

Seriously, she wakes up famished — or so she would lead me to believe — and dehydrated every day of the week.  I can barely get her to use the potty before she uses the last of her energy reserves to crawl to the kitchen in search of sustenance.

To make matters worse, lately she has started refusing the usual fare: cereal, toast, eggs and oatmeal. I guess it is high time that I expanded my breakfast menu.

Before Violet could open her yawning mouth (That’s a pun, get it? Oh, never mind.) I told her we were going to make some muffins for breakfast.  Never one to miss a chance at helping me cook, she pulled up a chair and poured, stirred and taste-tested until the muffins went into the oven.

Not once did she tell me she was hungry.  It was at least an hour after she awoke that we finally got to taste these delightful muffins.  They were well worth the wait, too.

Morning Glory Breakfast Muffins

2/3 cup hulled roasted sunflower seeds

3/4 cup whole-wheat flour

3/4 cup all-purpose white flour

1 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. salt

1 tsp. ground cinnamon

1 egg

2 Tbsp. vegetable oil

3/4 cup grated carrot

1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce

1/2 cup packed dark brown sugar

1/2 cup orange juice

1 tsp. vanilla extract

1/2 cup raisins

  • Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.  Lightly coat 12 muffin cups with vegetable oil spray or line with paper liners.

  • In a large bowl, whisk together the sunflower seeds, whole-wheat and white flours, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon until blended.  In a medium bowl, whisk the egg with the oil until smooth.  Add the grated carrot, applesauce, brown sugar, orange juice, and vanilla and whisk until blended.  Stir in the raisins.

  • Add the carrot mixture to the flour mixture and whisk just until combined.  Do not overmix.  Spoon into the prepared muffin cups, filling them almost full.

  • Bake until the muffins have risen slightly and are golden brown, 25 to 30 minutes.  Remove from the muffin cups.  Serve warm or at room temperature.  (You can refrigerate the muffins for 1 day or freeze them for 2 weeks.)

***PER MUFFIN:  About 192 calories, 63 calories from fat, 7g total fat, 1g saturated fat, 18mg cholesterol, 185mg sodium, 30g total carbs, 2g fiber, 5g protein

 

     I should tell you I got the recipe from the American Medical Association Family Health Cookbook.  Lots of good recipes in there.

Violet loves these muffins.  She won’t stop talking about them.  In fact, she got angry when I told her we were having something else for lunch (and dinner) yesterday.  I appeased the terrorist in her when I gave her one for breakfast this morning, though.

Score one for mom.

Speaking of breakfast foods Violet likes, I was able to watch the most recent episode of The Pioneer Woman last night and Ree was making pancake covered sausages on a stick.  Violet actually stopped what she was doing, walked over to the tv, turned to me and shouted excitedly, “That looks yummy!!!”

I guess I know what breakfast food we are going to try next.

2 responses to “Morning Glory Breakfast Muffins

  1. lol! “uses the last of her energy reserves” to get herself to the kitchen. That cracked me up. These sound yummy! We make a morning muffin, but it is different than this and I was looking for a new recipe to try, thanks!
    p.s. Watched Ree do the same..darn that woman!

Leave a Reply

