Scrapping: Happy New Year 2012

     I snatched up some scrapping time early today so that we can go play outside and enjoy the beautiful weather this afternoon.  

     Flipping through the photos I have printed out for my family album, I realized that not only am I not “caught up” anymore, but I am almost three months behind again!  Time to put the heritage album on hold for a bit while I get my personal album back up-to-date.  

     I also need to date and organize the photos I have printed out.  Since the date isn’t printed on the back already (hate that) I have to go back onto my computer and look up the date the picture was taken, then I write it on the back of the picture with a photo pencil and THEN I sort the photos by date.  If I had taken the time to do that today, though, I wouldn’t get any scrapping done, so I picked this photo which I already knew was taken on New Year’s Day.

     Nice shot, isn’t it?  I am going to have to do a mini album just of the self-portraits I take.  Rather than have a stranger take our picture, when Dave and I (and Violet) go somewhere I just stick my freakishly-long arm out as far as it will go and take the snapshot myself.  I’ve gotten some interesting pictures that way.

     Anywho, here is a closer look at a few things.

     The green floral rub on is by Crate Paper (Cottage Collection); I wanted something to match the green in Violet’s blankey.  The gold letter stickers are Stickopotamus.

     I LOVE these Thickers by American Crafts!!!  I wish I had more of them.  The style is called “Tiara” and the color is aqua, if anyone wants to buy me more for my birthday.  (hint, hint) 

     Poor Dave walked into the room just as I was voicing my [loud] displeasure over making a terrible mistake with the letters.  You see, since I am running out of the “popular” letters, I have to get creative and do some cutting to make the letters I want.  Like, use an upside down “d” for a “p” or cut the tail off a “q” to make an “a.”  Well, to make a long story short, I accidentally cut the tail off my second “p.”  I was so bummed, but I used it anyway.  You can kind of see it in the picture. 

     It adds character, right?

     This label sticker is by jillibean soup (chilled strawberry soup collection). 

     Last but not least, here is the scallop border I made with my Fiskars border punch.  I’ve gotta get myself some more border punches — I love them! 

     By the way, the 12 x 12 background paper is by Studio Calico, the orange/heart patterned paper is Echo Park (little girl) and the blue distressed paper is Crate Paper (Samantha).  I also spritzed a little Mister Huey’s Heirloom Blue ink over the hearts and background paper — you can see it toward the top left of the layout.  Mister Huey’s is by Studio Calico.

     Now, if you will excuse me, there is a small person who wants to be pushed on the swing!

5 responses to “Scrapping: Happy New Year 2012

  1. I was in Michael’s today and they’ve been clearing out the whole sticker aisles for weeks…today I found the clearanced stickers hidden–tons. And….wait for it…..those stickers you need more of above? They were clearanced! Get thyself to Michael’s ASAP!

  2. I thought you were going to say you bought me some for my birthday. 😉 Seriously, though, that was sweet of you to think of me.

    I’ll see if we can swing by Michael’s tomorrow while we’re out. Here’s hoping!

Leave a Reply

