It’s Almost Spring! (Must be Time to Put Away the Christmas Decor)

     March arrives in five days and I thought it might be appropriate to put away the last of the Christmas decorations before we say goodbye to Winter.  Hold on, hold on!  It’s not like we still have the tree up or anything.  Just, uh… the lights on the front of the house.  

     And a big ol’ Santa Claus cookie jar.  

     

     Adding insult to injury is the fact that the cookie jar has held only crumbs for the past month-and-a-half.   It wouldn’t be so bad if it was being used as a receptacle for scrumptious, chocolately, gooey (D: all of the above) treats that I’d whipped up and then amazed you with.  

     But all that was left was the stale scent of last year’s holiday season. So I washed it, packed it up and put it into storage.  

Violet and Clover say, "Happy birthday, Grandpa!"

     Does anybody have any good recipes for St. Patty’s Day treats?  All this talk of Christmas cookies has got me thinking I should cook up some more holiday spirit.  (And it takes a lot of advance thought on my part to get anything done before the holiday is passed.)  Considering I’m not a big fan of corned beef and cabbage, I’m thinking something involving green sugar would be nice.  😉

12 responses to “It’s Almost Spring! (Must be Time to Put Away the Christmas Decor)

  1. As I bow my head in shame, I must admit I took down the tree today! *shake head* I know horrible! Oddly, it was so warm in January Mike & I got all of the OUTSIDE decorations down over a month ago. However, I just haven’t had the time or the energy (when I did have the time) to take down the tree. Sammi will be here tomorrow though so that forced me to breakdown and pack up the tree.

    • You know, I didn’t really look at the name of who was commenting at first. I read the first sentence, chuckled, looked over at the name and laughed out loud! That is so you, Christine! I remember you always leaving Christmas decorations up long into the new year. Kudos to you for getting the outside decor down last month. By the way, Dave put in his two cents: “You know it’s time to take down the tree when you need to dust the ornaments.” 😉

  2. I leave my outsides lights up around the top of the porch beause it took my son 2 1/2 hours to put them up. At first I did have them coming down the porch iron pole but the neighbors turkeys ate half the light bulbs so they wouldn’t work way. Any more it’s anything to make thing easierl I just carry my 5 Ft. artifical tree upstairs all d ecortd and put it in a closet., Grannyjane

  3. That is one cute cookie jar and I’d leave it out for as long as possible, too:) I have a couple St.Patty’s Day treats up my sleeve I’ll be sharing soon! And if I don’t get to them (ie laziness kicks in) I’ll send them your way regardless:)

Leave a Reply

