Happy Birthday, Derek!

     I’m giving a great big shout-out to my nephew Derek, who turns 7 years old today!  

     Despite being sick with strep last week, I did manage to make the birthday boy a card.  I did not, however, manage to get it into the mailbox in time.  Presidents Day did not help.

     Derek, you should be getting your card tomorrow, but until then here is a sneak peek!

     This card came together surprisingly quickly.  Usually when I really like something, that means I spent an insane amount of time working on it.  

     I am super happy that I finally went ahead and figured out how to make my own envelope.  I’ve been saying I want a template to make envelopes, but a template would only make one size and some of my cards have strange dimensions.  All I had to do was fold a 12×12 piece of cardstock four times, each fold running along an edge of the finished card.  After each fold I laid the cardstock flat and then made the next fold.  Once I had four creases in the cardstock, I trimmed off the corners so that I had four flaps.  Then it was just a matter of trimming so that the flaps overlapped where I wanted them to.  Pretty simple.

     The patterned paper and chipboard stickers are from Crate Paper’s Toybox collection.  This piece of paper was actually a scrap that I had left over from a different project.  I didn’t even need to trim it.  I love when that happens!

     The circular photo turn is 7gypsies.  I don’t even remember where I got it, but I was happy to finally open the package and start using it!  (Gotta make room for new scrapping stuff, you know)

     Again, happy birthday, Derek.  I wish I could be there to celebrate with you, but I’m sending lots of hugs your way.  I love you!  🙂

 

2 responses to “Happy Birthday, Derek!

  1. oh noooooo!!! I am soooo sorry Jen!! Brain fart isn’t even close to how brain dead I have been! I am glad you are a very clever, smart gal and does not hate me too badly. 😦 I hope!

    And I do love your nephew’s card!!

    • At first I had no idea what you were talking about! Obviously, I’m not mad if I don’t even know why I would be. 🙂 I haven’t seen you lately and besides, I needed to figure out how to make the envelopes myself. Now I can make them any size.

Leave a Reply

