Weight Watchers’ Mexican Meatloaf

     Now that I’m feeling like my old self again (more or less), I have no excuse not to climb back onto the wagon with the “diet and exercise” program.  

     I just typed that first sentence between bites of Christmas cookies that I found in the freezer this evening.  Excuse me while I pour a glass of milk.

     That’s better.  Now, what was I saying?  Oh yes.  Diet and exercise.  I did the “exercise” part after lunch and almost immediately started contemplating dinner.  Thanks to Mom for bringing over all her Weight Watchers (momentum) literature a few weeks ago; I knew it would come in handy eventually!

Mexican Meatloaf  (3 WW pts)

Cooking spray

1/2 pound extra lean ground beef

1/2 pound lean ground turkey breast

2 large egg whites (I used eggbeaters)

2 oz. cornbread stuffing dry mix (about 1 cup)

1 medium chopped onion

1/2 tsp. chili powder

1/4 tsp. ground cumin

4 oz. canned green chili peppers, diced

8 oz. canned enchilada sauce

     Preheat oven to 375*.  Coat a broiler pan with cooking spray.  In a large bowl, mix beef, turkey, egg whites, stuffing mix, onion, chili powder, cumin, chilies, and half of the enchilada sauce together.  Shape into an oval with your hands and place on prepared broiler pan.  Cook for 1 hour, top with remaining enchilada sauce and bake for 5 minutes more.  Slice into 6 pieces and serve.

     The broiler pan I used goes with my toaster oven, but I just set it on a cookie sheet and it worked like a charm.  Kept the meatloaf up out of the drippings, although this dish is so lean there was little if any grease.     

I've told you before, I'm not a food photographer.

Next time I will make more of an effort to get the onion chunks smaller than, say, garlic cloves.

     This meatloaf was a real hit.  Some of the comments Mom made included:  “This looks….interesting.”  and “It looks Mexican-y.” 

     Violet was a sport and ate a few really good bites, but it was a bit too spicy for her.  She gives it one thumb down.     

Violet's milk was finished before anything else.

     I, on the other hand, loved it!  It was easy to make, low in fat and calories and satisfied my incessant craving for Mexican food.  I wonder if Weight Watchers has a recipe for Mucho Grande Fajita Nachos with all the fixins?!   😉

One response to “Weight Watchers’ Mexican Meatloaf

Leave a Reply

