I Think My Craft Room Just Threw Up

     I have a bit of a problem.  My craft room has a mind of its own.  It’s reproducing or something — I really don’t know what’s going on here.  Every time I go in there to work on a scrapbook page, there is more clutter and I see less and less of the work space.  I go in there to scrapbook when I have some free time, but instead I end up “organizing”… which means I stand there with a vacant stare, occasionally moving an object from one spot on the cluttered counter to another equally crowded spot.

     This is what I saw when I walked into the craft room this evening:

     And this is my work space:

     It’s no wonder I’m not getting much done.  I only have 8 square inches to work on!

     I am hoping that airing my dirty laundry — or messy scrap room as the case may be — will serve as a stimulus to get this room back to its former glory.  (It really did used to be glorious!)  My friend is going to sell me an Expedit shelving unit from Ikea.  I’ve been wanting one for a long time and she is re-doing her scrapping room, so I get a great deal on it.  It’s a big one (i.e. I should be able to fit a lot of my crap craft stuff in it).

     It is also very heavy, so I hope to enlist my husband in transporting the shelves.  If not for that, it would already be here and I’d be having a field day filling the cubbyholes.  My goal is to get an “After” picture posted on here real soon.

     Someone start the clock…

13 responses to “I Think My Craft Room Just Threw Up

  1. Sorry yours has nothing on my messy desk. I have started to dedicate one afternoon a week where i just clean and anything that i want to play with i throw in a basket for after. but i must say im jealous of all your space.

    • That’s what I should do: block out some time every week to tidy up around here. Even when I have more storage space, I know I am still going to be messy. 😉 Don’t be too jealous. This room used to be a carport, it’s not very well insulated and I have to bundle up to come in here in the winter! lol

  2. Hi Purple Pixie:
    I laughed when I read your post about even more storage resulting in future mess. I have a belief that there is a universal ‘Purse Law of Nature’ and it states: Transferring your items from a small purse to a large doesn’t create more organization, but offers an invitation to more clutter to fill in the newly created space.’ I think the same goes for every organizational unit.
    I think you have inspired me to write a post on a unique topic on my Home Organization blog. Thanks for the chuckles. LOVE your title! Please check out my blog and follow if you’re interested. I will keep an eye for your ‘after’ pics.
    Good luck!
    Madeline

    • Thanks for the comments, Madeline! You may be right. My husband and I were assembling my new shelves this afternoon (the unit is HUGE) and I made a comment about how in a few years I may be telling him that I need more shelves. He said, “And I’ll be telling you to sell some stuff!”
      I actually do a pretty good job of keeping my “stuff” in check. Over the years I have gotten rid of so much stuff that I didn’t need. Sometimes I regret it later, but usually I don’t. When it comes to craft supplies, however, I will probably always keep getting more and it can be difficult to purge. I’ve sold scrapbooking supplies on ebay, though (and used the proceeds to buy better scrapbooking supplies!).
      I can’t wait to go into my craft room and fill up those cubbies! 😉

Leave a Reply

