Chicken Fajitas

     It took me a full minute to decide on that title for this post.  Creative, huh?

     Since we’re probably going to have to pick Dave up at the truck stop around dinnertime (won’t know exactly when until practically the last minute), I decided to make these fajitas for lunch.  Originally, I was going to make Taco-Corn Chili, but I found I was missing a key ingredient: corn.  So I dug around on the Betty Crocker website and found the recipe for these fajitas.  I still didn’t have every ingredient, but I adapted and it turned out great.

     First, I marinaded some chicken tenders (just sliced chicken breasts) for about 15 minutes.  The marinade called for 1/4 cup of fresh lime juice, but all I had was bottled lemon juice, so in the bowl it went.  Add to that 1/2 teaspoon each of salt, cumin and oregano, and 1 garlic clove, minced.  Mix well and stir in the chicken.

     While the chicken is marinating, slice two medium onions and two medium bell peppers.  I only had one onion, but I have plenty of already-sliced bell pepper in the freezer.  I love that I have peppers from last year’s garden in our freezer, waiting to be used!  I can’t wait to plant more in a few months.  Heat about a tablespoon of oil in a large skillet and add the peppers and onions, cooking until crisp-tender.

   

There are few things I love more than peppers and onions. Maybe I should dip them in chocolate? Just kidding!

 

     Then push the peppers and onions aside and add the chicken, discarding the marinade.  Cook the chicken about 8 minutes or until cooked through.  

     

     Meanwhile, I had a pot of brown rice cooking on the stove.  The last bit of a head of lettuce got chopped up and the cheese, sour cream and salsa made their way onto the counter.  I heated up some whole wheat tortillas in the oven, wrapped in foil.

     Here is the final product:

     

     Violet gave it two thumbs up.  (Victory!)  🙂

5 responses to “Chicken Fajitas

  1. Nothing happened to them LOL we just never used any of them! Total waste! We learned what NOT to do our first garden. Sad thing is we haven’t done one since LOL

  2. Oh. I LOVE peppers. They’re probably my favorite vegetable.
    Last year was the first year we had a garden and a lot of it went to waste. I’m counting on this year being better. Vi is a year older and I’m a tad bit wiser. 😉

Leave a Reply

