I Heart Love

     There are only 12 days left until Valentine’s Day!! ❤ ❤ ❤   It’s time to get this love-fest started!

     Now, I have never been a really big fan of Valentine’s Day.  I thought it was pretty cool in elementary school when we all had our own valentine mailbox on our desks and everyone gave everyone else a valentine (I still have one from J. Johnson in my box of misc. memories, because that one was an awesome scratch-n-sniff!).  Once junior high came along, however, reality hit and I never got one of those damn flowers they sold in the lunchroom between classes.  

     *sniff*

     At age 33, I think I am ready to move on.  Violet has renewed my joy for Valentine’s Day and I am willing to embrace it, gooey one-liners and all.  Besides, red is my favorite color — how can I not love February 14th?

     Here is a card I made on Tuesday night.  I got the idea out of Scrapbooks etc. magazine.  The wings are made with a Creative Memories scalloped circle punch and cut to shape (same with the toes).  I used a tag punch for the body, then used scissors to cut the indent on top of the head.  I think I’m going to send this one to my assigned partner in a valentine swap I signed up for online (I’ve never done one of those before and am kind of excited!). 

     Tomorrow is the first MOPS (Mothers of Preschoolers) meeting of the month and I need to bring something for everyone to eat.  Of course I waited until the last minute to decide what to make.  I wanted it to be Valentine-y and I had some strawberry frosting (hubby bought that — I stick to chocolate) so I made yellow cupcakes from scratch and used the store-bought frosting.  I also had some red candy melts left over from Christmas, so I melted some in the microwave, put them in a Ziploc bag, cut the corner off and piped the candy onto waxed paper into the shape of hearts.  Some look more like hearts than others…

     Violet got to help put the hearts on top and then her little heart broke when I told her she had to wait until after dinner to have hers.  awww…

2 responses to “I Heart Love

    • There was one cupcake left after we had ours and I loaded up the box for MOPS. Violet wanted it (she’d already had 1) and I made the mistake of telling her it was for Clover. Now she keeps wanting to give Clover cupcakes. oops…

Leave a Reply

