My Organizing Books are Cluttering My Living Space

     On our bi-weekly trip to the library several days ago, I was able to escape from the children’s section long enough to find quite a few books for myself.  I’ve worked at bookstores in the past and invariably put the majority of my paycheck right back into the cash register.  At one point I owned enough books to stock a small bookstore myself.  Ahh, those were the days before bills, children, responsibility or restraint.  Nowadays I get excited if I can get my hands on a book I’m interested in at the library, or if I can find a decent free one for my Kindle — one that wasn’t published in the 1800’s, that is.

          One of the books I checked out of the library was What’s a Disorganized Person To Do?  317 Ideas, Tips, Projects, And Lists to Unclutter Your Home And Streamline Your Life.  I’ve made it to #23.  Meanwhile, the book has occupied space on the kitchen counter, bathroom counter, kitchen table, bedside table…  Apparently I’m just carrying it around with me in case an arachnid crosses my path.  I’m sure I will find some good ideas in the book, but my budget unfortunately doesn’t include organizational tools at this time, so I have to get creative.  I will let you know what I come up with.

     This afternoon my mom came over and helped me sort through a bunch of old photographs.  I had a stack for her to look at and write the date and any pertinent info on the back.  Mom was kind enough to sort and date the photos and place them into several labeled envelopes dating back as far as the early 1940’s.  

          There is a scrapbooking weekend planned a couple weeks from now and as soon as I get caught up on my family album I am going back to finish a scrapbook my mom put together in the 60’s!  After that, who knows?  I think I may start at my birth and work my way forward.  The prospect of getting to start that project is exciting.  🙂

     What about you?  Do you have a box/bag/drawer full of photographs that you don’t know what to do with?  Or are you organized and have them in albums?  Tell me!

3 responses to “My Organizing Books are Cluttering My Living Space

  1. Pingback: Featured Web Site: Hobby Lobby | Create!·

Leave a Reply

