First Time Finger Painting

     I finally opened the package of finger paints we bought Violet for her birthday.  Yes, her birthday was a month and a half ago — thanks for reminding me.  

     I’m not exactly sure why I’ve put it off for so long.  I guess I had it in my head that it would be extremely messy and there never seems to be a perfect time for introducing even more mess into my house.  I struggle with keeping the house looking how I think it “should” look, although I have come to realize over the past couple of years that everyone else’s house looks more like mine than I had originally thought.  I need to just accept that it will never be perfect and learn to enjoy the fun (and sometimes messy) times with Violet, without stressing over mess.

          Finger painting wasn’t as messy as I had imagined, and even if it was, Violet’s joy made it worthwhile.  

     She lined up the paint cups in a row, then discovered she had gotten paint on herself.  

     Violet told me she was done painting (and ready for a bath).  I’m sure she’ll be asking to do it again tomorrow.  

Leave a Reply

