I’m Just Peachy!

We finally made it out to the local produce auction yesterday.  

We had never been there before and didn’t quite know what to expect.  

I wasn’t disappointed.  

I believe the whole operation is run by the local Amish; they were still unloading produce off the trucks (yes, they drive trucks, but there were also several horse-and-buggies there as well) up until the last minute.

The produce is put up for auction in large lots — several bushels at a time — which means you should really know what you’re going to do with 300 pounds of corn before you buy it!  

I could make a lot of tomato sauce with six bushels of tomatoes.

Mom and I didn’t go into this venture with a firm idea of what we wanted to buy.  What we ended up getting was 3 ½ bushels of peaches and 1 ¼ bushels of slicing cucumbers.

We don’t even like cucumbers.

You see, Mom was chomping at the bit to bid on something and she thought she was bidding on green beans (in her defense, the beans were right next to the cukes).  I knew something was up when she came up to me with a sheepish expression on her face and said, “You won’t believe what I just did.”  Now we have cucumbers Free to a Good Home.     

     As soon as we got home we started the process of canning the peaches.  It took a day and a half, but it’s done.  We have 35 quarts and 33 pints of sliced peaches, around a dozen jelly jars of peach jam and several containers of frozen slices.  Mom pulled a muscle in her back while transferring the full canning pot off of the stove and now she is about crippled.  I think tomorrow will truly be a day of rest for her.  

Next on the agenda:  finding a place to put all my jars of peaches!

6 responses to “I’m Just Peachy!

  1. What are you going to do with all those jars of peaches?

    And you can mail the cucumbers to me!!! I LOVE cucumbers!!!! 🙂

    • The peaches will be divided between Mom and I. If we ate just one jar a week, it would last about a year.
      I would send the cucumbers to you, but I think they would be even ickier after being sent through the mail. bleh.

      • Yes, to bad I’m not closer. I’d have cucumbers for breakfast, lunch & dinner!!! Mmmm!

  2. Mike is now singing “millions of peaches, peaches for me, millions of peaches, peaches for free…”

  3. Pingback: You Say “Tomato.” I say “Enough Already!” « purplepixieindixie·

Leave a Reply

