On the first day of Christmas…

     A partridge in a pear tree.  That’s what this bird looks like to me.  She is the first of a number of sample crafts that mom and I are going to make as examples for the craft meetings this summer.  Remember that beautiful red fabric I showed you a few days ago?  Well, it’s going to be made into these birds.  Mom had the gold fabric on hand and we thought it might be nice to have some gold birds, but we’re both really excited about the red!  They’re going to look like Cardinals, or “redbirds” as they call them here in Dixie.  This sample took us quite a bit of time to put together, but what I finished of the second one took half as long.  That is one of the reasons why we’re making samples!  Not only do I want to have an in-the-flesh example of our crafty goal, but I also need to know what the heck I’m doing before I attempt to instruct other people on it!

     The other craft we worked on today was making salt dough ornaments.  Our thought was we need to have several craft projects available to work on at each meeting.  We don’t know how many people are going to show up; if only a few people showed up it wouldn’t be a big deal, but if a lot of people showed up and we didn’t have enough for them to do, that would be bad!  So we will have dried salt dough ornaments, ready to be painted.  After they’re painted they will need two coats of clear varnish, but WOWZA! I priced it at Walmart today and it’s not cheap.  I will see if Hobby Lobby has what I need and if so I’ll use a coupon.  What we accomplished today is a great start to this whole crafty project and I feel much better about where I’m at with it now.  🙂

Leave a Reply

