C’mon baby! Let’s do the [paper] twist!

    It turns out the furnace doesn’t get to go on vacation after all.  It is so cold and rainy here that I broke down today and turned on the heat.  Thank goodness we haven’t gotten a frost, because the corn and beans have poked up their little heads out of the dirt!  We haven’t had to worry about watering the garden this week, what with all the rain we’ve had.  Sorry I don’t have a photo to show you of our baby seedlings; I’ll hop in the boat tomorrow and row up to the garden to take pictures.  ↑ Above you will see the flowers I bought today.  Alas, I don’t have the name for you right now — that will have to wait till tomorrow as well.  I can tell you that they’re perennials and will go in the “pond,” which isn’t actually a pond anymore, but once was.  Now it’s a raised bed where I plan on growing herbs and a few flowers.  Butterflies and hummingbirds are supposed to like these ↑.

    I’ve been having a hard time finding some of the supplies for my Christmas crafts.  Remember, this summer I’m in charge of organizing craft-making groups for our church bazaar, which is in November.  Usually I’m in awe at how early the stores get holiday items in; children are still trying to decide what character they’re going to be for Halloween and the big-box stores are setting up Christmas trees and stacking boxes of ornaments.  It can be irritating.  But the tables have turned!  Now I’m wishing I could find some holiday items, specifically floral picks or at the very least a few yards of metallic gold paper twist ribbon!  [If you don’t know what that is, don’t ask.]  Ebay, my (former) BFF, has let me down.  And I find it very difficult to pay $8.50 shipping on a $5 item!  I will continue my crafty quest and let you know if I triumph. 

     I was lucky enough to go to my friend Susan’s how this afternoon to scrapbook (or, as it turned out, make birthday cards and gift tags).  Here is a picture I took while standing in her driveway:

     I can’t wait till we’re wearing shorts and complaining about the (dry) heat again!  😉

    

Leave a Reply

